European Coal and Steel Community

Knowledge Identifier: &European_Coal_and_Steel_Community


European Coal and Steel Community

International organisation serving to unify European countries after the Second World War add

Category: Politics

Founded in 1952.

Countries: Europe (39%), France (19%), Germany (10%)

Main connections: European Economic Community, European Union, Robert Schuman

Linked to: Social Democratic Party of Germany, Benelux




This timeline needs to be reviewed and corrected, as it has been automatically generated from multiple web sources.
Please help improve it by adding dated informations, images and videos about European Coal and Steel Community.


European Court of Justice - Luxembourg was chosen as the provisional seat of the Court on 23 July 1952 with the establishment of the European Coal and Steel Community


On 11 August 1952, the United States was the first non-ECSC member to recognise the Community and stated it would now deal with the ECSC on coal and steel matters, establishing its delegation in Brussels add something


Official Journal of the European Union - It was first published on 30 December 1952 as the "Official Journal of the European Coal and Steel Community"


Hans von der Groeben - From 1953 he represented the Federal Government in the coordinating committee of the European Coal and Steel Community


The common market for coal was opened on 10 February 1953, and for steel on 1 May 1953 add something


In October 1953 Schuman said that the possibility of another European war had been eliminated add something


Jean Fourastie - From 1954 to 1957, he led the European Coal and Steel Community's study group on the conditions and effects of technical progress in the steel industry


The Euratom treaty was largely stifled by de Gaulle and the European governments refused the suggestion of an Energy Community involving electricity and other vectors that was suggested at Messina in 1955 add something


Walter Hallstein - In 1955 the foreign ministers of the European Coal and Steel Community met at Messina, among other things to nominate a member of the High Authority of the European Coal and Steel Community and to appoint its new president and vice-presidents for the period ending 10 February 1957


Eelco van Kleffens - Van Kleffens was the Dutch representative at NATO and the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development from 1956 to 1958, and at the European Coal and Steel Community from 1958 until 1967, after which Van Kleffens retired to Portugal, where he died on June 17, 1983


The ECSC was joined by two other similar communities in 1957, the European Economic Community and European Atomic Energy Community, with whom it shared its membership and some institutions add something


European Union - In 1957, the six countries signed the Treaty of Rome, which extended the earlier cooperation within the European Coal and Steel Community and created the European Economic Community, establishing a customs union


European Court of Justice - It became an institution of two additional Communities in 1957 when the European Economic Community , and the European Atomic Energy Community were created, sharing the same courts with the European Coal and Steel Community


Charles de Gaulle - Under the inspiration of the French statesmen Jean Monnet and Robert Schuman, together with the German leader Konrad Adenauer, the rift between the two nations had begun to heal and along with Italy and the Benelux countries, they formed the European Coal and Steel Community, which following the Treaty of Rome of 1957 became the European Economic Community, known as the Common Market, beginning around the same time as de Gaulle's presidency.


Paul Erdman - In 1958 he worked as a financial analyst for the European Coal and Steel Community


Giuseppe Caron - In November 1959 he was appointed as one of the Italian European Commissioners on the first Hallstein Commission to replace Piero Malvestiti who resigned to become President of the European Coal and Steel Community


Piero Malvestiti - However, in September 1959 he resigned from the commission as he was elected President of the European Coal and Steel Community, a position he held until November 1963


European Economic Community - Merger Treaty - It gained a common set of institutions along with the European Coal and Steel Community and the European Atomic Energy Community as one of the European Communities under the 1965 Merger Treaty


In 1967 all its institutions were merged with that of the European Economic Community, but it retained its own independent legal personality add something


Up to the merger in 1967, the authority had five Presidents followed by an interim President serving for the final days add something


The Common Assembly representatives were to be national MPs delegated each year by their Parliaments to the Assembly or directly elected 'by universal suffrage' , though in practice it was the former, as there was no requirement for elections until the Treaties of Rome and no actual election until 1979, as Rome required agreement in the Council on the electoral system first add something


In 2002 the Treaty of Paris expired and all the ECSC activities and resources were absorbed by the European Union add something


The Consultative Committee remained separate until 2002, when the Treaty expired and its duties were taken over by the Economic and Social Committee add something


With the treaty due to expire in 2002, debate began at the beginning of the 1990s on what to do with it add something


The treaty finally expired on 23 July 2002 add something