Jury Prize (Cannes Film Festival)

Knowledge Identifier: $Jury_Prize_(Cannes_Film_Festival)


Jury Prize (Cannes Film Festival)

Award presented at the Cannes Film Festival, chosen by the Jury from the official section of movies at the festival add

Category: Movies & TV (100)

Launched in 1951.

Countries: France (33%), (20%), United Kingdom (13%)

Main connections: Jean-Luc Godard, Xavier Dolan, Goodbye to Language

Linked to: Museum of Modern Art




This timeline needs to be reviewed and corrected, as it has been automatically generated from multiple web sources.
Please help improve it by adding dated informations, images and videos about Jury Prize (Cannes Film Festival).


From 1951 until 1966 the name "'Special Jury Prize"' was used for the second-most important award of the festival add something


In 1967 the second place was renamed "Grand Prize of the Jury", and the Special Jury Prize title was withdrawn add something


Then, in 1969, the Jury Prize was created separately from the Grand Prize, and both have been awarded yearly since add something


The Special Jury Prize reappeared twice in the 1990s, and one "'International Jury Prize"' was awarded in 1946 add something


David Cronenberg - Crash - Cronenberg received the Special Jury Prize at the 1996 Cannes Film Festival for "Crash"


Claude Miller - Jury Prize - He had to wait until 1998 for his next major success: "La Classe de Neige," the chilling story of a lonely boy on a school skiing holiday, which won the Jury Prize at the 1998 Cannes Film Festival


Patrice Chereau - Jury Prize - Winner of almost twenty movie *awards, including the Cannes Jury Prize and the Golden Berlin Bear, Chéreau served as president of the jury at the 2003 Cannes festival


Andrea Arnold - Fish Tank premiered in 2009 and was accepted into competition for the Palme d'Or in Cannes and received the Jury Prize


Mahamat Saleh Haroun - Jury Prize - The 2010 feature film "A Screaming Man" won the Jury Prize at the 2010 Cannes Film Festival, making Haroun the first Chadian director to enter, as well as win, an award in the main Cannes competition


New Zealand filmmaker Jane Campion was the president of the Jury for the 2014 festival and oversaw a rare decision, in which the Jury Prize was awarded to two films: "Mommy", by Xavier Dolan, and "Goodbye to Language", by 83-year-old Jean-Luc Godard add something


Jean-Luc Godard - His 2014 film "Goodbye to Language" was selected to compete for the Palme d'Or in the main competition section at the 2014 Cannes Film Festival, where it won the Jury Prize


Goodbye to Language - It was selected to compete for the Palme d'Or in the main competition section at the 2014 Cannes Film Festival and won the Jury Prize sharing it with Xavier Dolan's film "Mommy"


As of 2016 Arnold was awarded the prize for her films American Honey, while Loach was awarded the prize for his films Hidden Agenda, Raining Stones, and The Angels' Share add something